EXTENSIVE RENOVATIONS ON THE JK WILLIAMS ADMINISTRATION BUILDING
The JK Williams Administration Building was built in 1932 and named for the 17th A&M President in 1997. The east side (front) of the building has 14 ionic columns. An ionic column is one of three column styles builders used in ancient Greece. These columns feature portraits in the capital, sitting on top of the column shaft.
Much information can be found detailing the extensive architecture of this building at https://aggiearchitecture.wordpress.com/2016/10/29/jack-k-williams-administration-building-1932/
This phenomenal example of architecture has experienced two phases of renovations over the past four years to restore the original beauty of this almost 100 year old building.
Phase one focused on restoring the East side of the building balustrade, the east steps and columns. A two piece pier system was installed to correct the foundation and the masonry was cleaned, repointed, and sealed. There was much patching, leveling, and water proofing required in the restoration. The outside light fixtures were replaced with LED.
Phase two included work on the North, South, and West side of the building as well as completing the East wall. It began with a lead abatement by Phoenix One. The outside steps on the West side were completely replaced. Tile was replicated and recast, masonry was cleaned, repointed, and sealed. Patching, leveling, water proofing, and joints re-grouted on all three sides. All lighting was replaced and enhanced to allow good visibility in the evening.
As if this work would not be enough on its own to restore the beauty of this building, all of the grates on the windows were removed and cleaned with an intensive wax process before every detail being restored to its former glory. This work was performed by Michael Van Enter, Chief Conservator of Van Enter Studio. The doors endured the same grueling process and the result is breathtaking.
We encourage you to take a moment to stop by and appreciate the work that has been done to restore this iconic piece of Texas A&M history.
Grady Winkler was the inspector for Phase 1 and Phase II
Joe Phillips was the EDCS Project Manager for Phase I
John Cargill and Mildred Trevino were the EDCS Project Managers for Phase II